Delaware Life Producer and Accident and Health Producer Examinations — exam facts
Delaware
Every source below was read on 2026-09-22
| Administering body | Delaware Department of Insurance — exam delivered by Pearson VUE The handbook says the Department does not require a specific program of pre-licensing education. It describes testing at Pearson VUE test centers (Dover, Newark and nearby states) and does not describe an online-proctored option for these exams. Source: Pearson VUE — Delaware Insurance Candidate Handbook (June 2025, #120800) (2026-09-22) |
|---|---|
| Questions | There is no combined exam; Life and Accident and Health are separate exams. Scored questions: Life 50 general plus 40 Delaware; Accident and Health 50 general plus 42 Delaware. Unscored pretest questions in the Delaware portion: Life 6, Accident and Health 13. For the general portion the handbook's exam table lists 10 pretest questions but the content outline lists 5, so the pretest total is not stated here. What we read and found nothing in: Pearson VUE — Delaware Insurance Candidate Handbook (June 2025, #120800) (2026-09-22) · Pearson VUE — Delaware Insurance Content Outlines (effective January 15, 2025, #120801) (2026-09-22) |
| Time limit | There are two separate exams (Life; Accident and Health), and each is timed in two portions as the handbook prints them: a general portion of 75 minutes and a Delaware portion of 60 minutes What we read and found nothing in: Pearson VUE — Delaware Insurance Candidate Handbook (June 2025, #120800) (2026-09-22) |
| Passing score | Not published by Delaware Department of Insurance The handbook says raw scores are converted to scaled scores that "can range from 0 to 100" and that "Some exams require a scaled score of 70 to pass and others require a scaled score of 80 to pass. The passing score will be listed on your score report." It does not say which applies to Life or Accident and Health. A candidate who fails one portion retakes only that portion and must pass it within 1 year; retakes can be booked after 24 hours. What we read and found nothing in: Pearson VUE — Delaware Insurance Candidate Handbook (June 2025, #120800) (2026-09-22) · Delaware Department of Insurance — Delaware Licensing Procedures (2026-09-22) |
| Fees |
The handbook says a candidate who schedules Life and Accident and Health on the same day pays only one $90 fee. The $125 licence fee is printed in both the handbook and the Department's licensing procedures. Source: Pearson VUE — Delaware Insurance Candidate Handbook (June 2025, #120800) (2026-09-22) |
| Languages offered | English · Spanish The handbook's exam table says the Life Producer and Accident/Health Producer exams are also available in Spanish. Source: Pearson VUE — Delaware Insurance Candidate Handbook (June 2025, #120800) (2026-09-22) |
Change log
- 2026-09-22Fact sheet created from the Pearson VUE Delaware candidate handbook (June 2025), the content outlines effective 15 January 2025 and the Department of Insurance licensing procedures. General-portion pretest counts disagree between the handbook table and the outline, and the passing score for these two exams is not stated.
- 2025-01-15Current Delaware content outlines took effect.